Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for directing church personnel, maintaining financial stability, establishing Board policy, and promoting the general welfare of the church. If you would like more information about the election and responsibilities of our Board, please see Article IV in our bylaws.


It is the mission of the First Unitarian Society of Ithaca’s Board of Trustees to serve the congregation through leadership, example, and education. We will do this by: supporting the Principles and Purposes of the UUA and the Mission and Vision statements of the congregation, overseeing and supporting the programs and paid staff of the church, responsibly managing the church’s finances, conducting and overseeing all business matters of the congregation, representing the congregation to the community, and communicating our shared UU values to both the congregation and the greater community.


The board meets from 6:30 to 8:00 pm on the third Wednesday of the month. Additional meetings are held as needed.


You may contact the entire Board through an email addressed to


The minutes of Board meetings are published one month after the meeting. This time delay occurs because the minutes must be read, amended, or corrected, and then approved, by the Trustees at the next meeting of the Board.


Don Barber, President, (2021-2024)

Therese O’Connor,  Vice President,  (2020-2023)

Valerie Graves,  (2021-2024)

Nancy Miller, (2021-2023)
Margaret Nichols, (2021-2024)
Walt Peck, Treasurer,
Dick Kurtz, (2022-2023)

Rene Rogers, (2022-2023)

Fred Balfour, (2022-2023)