Board of Trustees (BoT)

The Board of Trustees is responsible for maintaining financial stability, identifying the broad congregational vision, establishing policy, conducting long range planning, and promoting the general welfare of the church. The Board supports and supervises the minister, who in turn oversees all additional church personnel. If you would like more information about the election and responsibilities of our Board, please see Article IV in our bylaws.


It is the mission of the First Unitarian Society of Ithaca’s Board of Trustees to serve the congregation through leadership, example, and education. We will do this by: supporting the Principles and Purposes of the UUA and the Mission and Vision statements of the congregation, overseeing and supporting the programs and paid staff of the church, responsibly managing the church’s finances, conducting and overseeing all business matters of the congregation, representing the congregation to the community, and communicating our shared UU values to both the congregation and the greater community.

Annual Vision of Ministry 2020-2021

  • Connection:  We will expand our commitment to shared ministry by creating opportunities for worship, community service, and religious education that build and strengthen multigenerational relationships.
  • Inspiration:  We will advance opportunities for congregational faith formation by creating spaces for dialogue and reflection that help members of our community grow their Unitarian Universalist spiritual identities, build community, and embody our values and principles in their daily lives.
  • Engage: We will strengthen and extend our commitment to service and social justice based on our UU principles; projecting our UU voice and values in Ithaca and beyond.


The board meets from 6:30 to 8:00 pm on the second Wednesday of the month. If needed, a second meeting at a tbd time.


You may contact the entire Board through an email addressed


The minutes of Board meetings are published on the church’s website one month after the meeting. This time delay occurs because the minutes must be read, amended, or corrected, and then approved, by the Trustees at the next meeting of the Board.


-Andrew Turner, President, (2018-2021)

-Matt Hare, (2018-2019)

-Kim Wilkinson, (2018-2021)

-Diana Nier, ( 2019-2022)

-Lyn Staack, (2019-2022)

-Elton Hall, (2019-2022)

-Carsten Hess,  (2020-2023)

-Therese O’Conner, (2020-2023)

-Simon Catterall,    (2020-2023)

(this page was last updated July 6th, 2020)